The regular election of county officers occurred August 3, 1835.

William Drury was elected recorder, Ephraim Gilmore surveyor, E. Cresswell and Abner Arrasmith justices of the peace, and John Miller and Wesley Arrasmith constables. The election of justices and constables being found illegal, a special election was held, October 5th, for the purpose of electing two justices and two constables for New Boston and one justice and one constable for Sugar Grove. Joshua Willits and Lewis Noble were elected justices and Newton I. Willits and William B. Wilson constables for New Boston, and Abraham Miller, Jr., justice and John Miller constable for Sugar Grove.


History of Mercer and Henderson County

Submitted by the Webmaster

©Wini Caudell and Contributors

All Rights Reserved

Illinois Ancestors